NFHS Boys Lacrosse Q & A 4/15/16

1. Q: Team A has possession of the ball in its offensive half, outside of the attack area and is under the
requirement to bring the ball into the goal area (either “advance the ball” or a “get it in” situation). The ball is
deflected by Team B and goes out of bounds. Is Team A entitled to a full 10 seconds to get the ball into the
attack area?

A: Yes. The count resets on the restart.

2. Q: Team A has possession of the ball in its offensive half, outside of the attack area and is under the
requirement to bring the ball into the goal area (either “advance the ball” or “get it in” situation). An official
blows his whistle to stop the play e.g. an injury, an equipment issue etc., or a play on is called. Is Team A
entitled to a full 10 seconds to get the ball into the attack area?

A: Yes. The count resets on the restart.

3. Q: Bl is serving a penalty while the game is under running time (e.g. 12 or more goal differential). The
penalty is also running time. The ball now goes out of bounds while the clock continues to run. If the penalty

time expires during the stoppage in play, may the penalized player come back into the field?

A: Yes.

4. Q: Team A scores to go 12 goals ahead. When does running time begin?

A: Running time begins with the next whistle resuming play.

5. Existing 4.24.6 Situation: Al is running down the field in his attack half of the field, with no player from
Team B near him. He loses any mandatory equipment and then shoots at goal, scoring a goal.

Existing Ruling: Legal goal. Officials should be ready to stop play to prevent a potential injury if any player of
Team B is close enough to play Al.

NEW NOTE: If defensive player B1 loses any mandatory equipment, he must leave the field or regain his
equipment before continuing to play. It is a technical foul if B1 continues to play without mandatory
equipment. If the situation is potentially dangerous, officials should stop play and assess the foul/violation.



