
 

2016  NFHS Boys Lacrosse - Frequently Asked Questions 

 

1. NFHS Rule 1-7-3 provides, in part, that:  “Any additional strings or laces 
(e.g., shooting strings, V channels) must be located within 4 inches of the 
top of the crosse.”  

 

Q.  Does this restriction apply to the Goalkeeper’s crosse?  

A.  No. That part of the rule does not apply to the Goalkeeper’s crosse. 

Q.  What is the penalty for a violation? 

A.   Under Rule 5.5 - 3 minute non-releasable penalty and the crosse remains at 
the table for the remainder of the game.  

 



2. NFHS Rule 4-3-3n 

 

Q.  Can paint be used in place of tape on the crosse? 

A.  No, tape must be used. 

 

3. NFHS Rule 4-14-3 

 

Note:  For all questions below, consider that Team A has cleared the ball and 
established possession in the box, ending the 10-second clearing count.  A pass 
from A1 to A2 is missed, and the ball bounces toward the centerline without 
being touched by Team B. 

 Q. Is the center line treated as a plane so that if a ball crosses the center line it 
is an immediate violation? 

A. No the ball must touch the center line, the ground on the defense half of the 
field or anything in defensive half.  

Q. May a player in the defensive half of the field bat the ball with his cross or 
kick the ball so that the ball does not cross the centerline? 

 A. Yes.  



Q. May a player in the offensive half of the field reach across the centerline and 
either catch the ball or bat the ball back over the centerline, so that it never 
touches the center line, the ground on the defense half of the field or anything 
in contact with the defensive half?  

A. Yes 

 

4. NFHS Rule 4-18-1 SITUATION E:  
 

 

Q.   Does the goalkeeper count as one of the two defenders referred to in the 
situation? 

A.  No the goalkeeper does not count as one of the two defensemen under this 
rule. 

Q.   Is this an immediate whistle? 

 A.  The officials will stop play as soon as they notice the situation. However, if a 
shot is already in flight when this is noticed, the shot will be allowed to come to 
its normal conclusion before the whistle blows to stop play. 

  

5. Restarts 

 Q.  Where is the play restarted when there is a technical foul before the faceoff 
begins or while the faceoff players are down battling in the faceoff position? 

 A.  The offended team is awarded the ball in its offensive side of the field at the 
center.  

Q.  If after the face off is started, the ball is directed or moves away from the 
Center if a player commits a loose ball infraction, e.g. a push or hold, where 
does the play restart?  



 A.  The play is restarted where at the spot where the ball was when the whistle 
blew.  
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Take Part. Get Set For Life.™ 
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